Africa 2014 World Cup Qualifying Zone

World Cup 2014 Qualifying Draw & Groups: Africa

World Cup 2014 Qualifying Groups: Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, OceaniaSouth America

World Cup 2014

Africa will have 5 places for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

Round One

The 24 lowest ranked Participating Member Associations (PMAs) based on the FIFA World Rankings of July 2011 participate in Round One.

The 24 teams are paired into 12 home-and-away legs to be played from 11 - 15 November 2011. The 12 winners of each leg advanced to Round Two. The matches and aggregate results were:

Seychelles 0 v Kenya 7 ; Guinea-Bissau 1 v Togo 2; Djibouti 0 v Namibia 8; Mauritius v Liberia (w/o Liberia progress); Comoros 1 v Mozambique 5; Equatorial Guinea 3 v Madagascar 2; Somalia 0 v Ethiopia 5; Lesotho 3 v Burundi 2; Eritrea 2 v Rwanda 4; Swaziland 2 v Congo DR 8; São Tomé e Príncipe 1 v Congo 6; Chad 2 v Tanzania 2 (Tanzania progress on away goals)

Round Two

The 12 Round One winners join the remaining 28 PMAs in Round Two. The 40 teams will be drawn into 10 round-robin, home-and-away groups of 4 teams each. The matches are scheduled to be played from 1 June 2012 - 10 September 2013. The 10 group winners will advance to Round Three.

Africa Zone Round Two Standings

Group A Group B Group C Group D Group E
Ethiopia Tunisia Côte d'Ivoire Zambia Congo
Central African Republic Sierra Leone Tanzania Ghana Gabon
South Africa Equatorial Guinea Morocco Sudan Niger
Botswana Cape Verde Islands Gambia Lesotho Burkina Faso
Group F Group G Group H Group I Group J
Nigeria Egypt Benin Libya Senegal
Namibia Guinea Algeria Congo DR Uganda
Malawi Zimbabwe Mali Cameroon Angola
Kenya Mozambique Rwanda Togo Liberia

Round 3

The third round of African qualification for the 2014 World Cup has the 10 group winners from Round Two drawn into five home-and-away matches. The winners of each tie advances to the 2014 FIFA World Cup finals in Brazil.

The ties are set to be played 11-15 October and 15-19 November, 2013.


Ivory Coast 4-2 Senegal 3-1 1-1
Ethiopia 1-4 Nigeria 1-2 0-2
Tunisia 1-4 Cameroon 0-0 1-4
Ghana 7-3 Egypt 6-1 1-2
Burkina Faso 3-3 (away goals) Algeria 3-2 0-1