Confederations Cup

Confederations Cup

Confederations Cup

The FIFA Confederations Cup takes place every four years in the year before a World Cup and involves 8 teams: the winners of each of the six FIFA confederation championships (AFC, OFC, CAF, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL and UEFA), in addition to the FIFA World Cup winner and the host country.

When the world champion is also the winner of its confederation championship, then the World Cup runner-up enters the Confederations Cup.

The Confederations Cup now often serves as preparation and a dress- rehearsal for a World Cup. 3 of the last 4 competitions have been held in Japan & South Korea in 2001, Germany 2005 and South Africa 2009 before World Cup finals held in those countries.

In recent tournaments Brazil won in 2009 and 2005; France won in 2003 and 2001.


The idea for the FIFA Confederations Cup came from a tournament held in Saudi Arabia in 1992 and 1995 called the Confederations Winners Cup. FIFA took over organizing the competition and staged the event every two years until 2005.

Confederations Cup News

Confederations Cup 2013

Confederations Cup 2013 - Brazil, Spain, Italy, Mexico and Japan lead the teams heading into this World Cup warm up.

Confederations Cup 2013 Preview - what chances for Brazil as they host the 2013 tournament.

Confederations Cup 2009

Confederations Cup 2009 - all the news, teams and results from the 2009 Confederations Cup in South Africa.

More Confederations Cup News

11-0 for Germany.