2012 Club World Cup

Fifa Club World Cup 2012

FIFA Club World Cup.

The FIFA Club World Cup 2012 will be held again this year in Japan with games taking place at Toyota Stadium, the occasional home of Nagoya Grampus, located near Nagoya in central Japan and at International Stadium Yokohama, the venue for the 2002 World Cup final.

The tenth edition of the Club World Cup in 2012 will be held in Japan before the tournament moves to Morocco. In the Club World Cup 2011 Spain's Barcelona were the winners beating Santos from Brazil 4-0 in the one-sided final.

The 2012 tournament will run from December 6-16, 2012.

Club champions from Europe (Champions League winners), South America (Libertadores Cup winners), Oceania (OFC Club Championship winners), Asia (Asian Champions League winners), Africa (CAF Champions League winners) and Central and North America (CONCACAF Champions Cup winners) will compete along with Al Ahli FC representing the host nation.

Goal-line technology will be used for the first time in a major, senior tournament with the hope that it will prove succesful and be adopted at future World Cups and in major leagues around the world.

The FIFA Club World Cup tournament will move to Morocco for 2013 and 2014.

Club World Cup Teams

Chelsea (England; Europe/UEFA)
Corinthians (Brazil; South America/CONMEBOL)
Monterrey (Mexico; CONCACAF)
Auckland (New Zealand; Oceania)
Ulsan Hyundai (South Korea; Asia/AFC)
Sanfrecce Hiroshima (Japan; Asia/AFC)
Al Ahly (Africa/CAF).

Toyota Stadium, Nagoya.

Toyota Stadium

Match Schedule

FIFA Club World Cup TOYOTA CUP 2012 tournament schedule
Play Off Match
Match Date KO Teams Venue
1 Thurs 6 Dec 19:45 Sanfrecce Hiroshima 1 v Auckland City 0 Yokohama
2 Sun 9 Dec 19:30 Ulsan Hyundai 1 v Club de Futbol Monterrey 3 Toyota Stadium
3 Sun 9 Dec 16:00 Sanfrecce Hiroshima 1 v Al-Ahly 2 Toyota Stadium
Fifth Place Play-Off
  Date KO Teams Venue
4 Wed 12 Dec 16:30 Ulsan Hyundai 2 v Sanfrecce Hiroshima 3 Toyota Stadium
  Date KO Teams Venue
5 Wed 12 Dec 19:30 Al-Ahly  0 v Corinthians 1 Toyota Stadium
6 Thurs 13 Dec 19:30 Monterrey 1 v Chelsea 3 Yokohama
Third Place Play-Off
  Date KO Teams Venue
7 Sun 16 Dec 16:30 Al-Ahly 0 v Monterrey 2 Yokohama
  Date KO Teams Venue
8 Sat 16 Dec 19:30 Corinthians 1 v Chelsea 0 Yokohama


The matches will be played at the 45,000-capacity Toyota Stadium and the 72,000 capacity Yokohama International Stadium (venue for the 2002 World Cup final), which is about 40 minutes or less from Tokyo.

Photograph of Yokohama Stadium


Chelsea, who won the Champions League for the first time in their history in May, include such talents as the Spanish duo of Fernando Torres and Juan Mata, England trio of John Terry, Frank Lampard and Ashley Cole, plus Petr Cech and Eden Hazard.

Corinthians, like Chelsea, also won their first continental championship in 2012 when they lifted the Copa Libertadores. Corinthians, however, have a history in the tournament having won the 2000 FIFA Club World Championship Final held in Brazil.

Ulsan Hyundai of Korea's K-League became the third South Korean side in four years to win the Asian Champions League when they defeated Al-Alhi 3-0 in the final.

Flying the flag for Oceania and New Zealand soccer are Auckland City who have appeared at this stage before, most recently in 2011, and always give a good account of themselves. In 2009 they beat the hosts in Abu Dhabi, Al Ahli and TP Mazembe Englebert, the champions of Africa and the 2010 losing finalists to Inter. In 2011, however, they went out at the first time of asking to Kashiwa Reysol.

Mexican side Monterrey are making their second consecutive appearance in the tournament and will hope to do better than the fifth place finish they achieved last year after they lost to J-League champions Kashiwa Reysol before beating Esperance of Tunisia in the play off for fifth place.

Al-Ahly from Egypt beat Esperance Sportive de Tunis in this year's CAF Champions League.

The host team is likely to be either Hiroshima Sanfrecce or Sendai Vegalta, two of the lesser well-known teams in Japan.

2000 Brazil Corinthians
2005 Japan Sao Paulo
2006 Japan Internacional
2007 Japan AC Milan
2008 Japan Manchester United
2009 Abu Dhabi Barcelona
2010 Abu Dhabi Inter
2011 Japan Barcelona


Keep up with all the action live from Japan on our Club World Cup Blog.

Recommended Hotels in Japan

Book Hotel Accommodation in Japan Here

Hotels in Japan - Agoda
Hotels in Nagoya - Agoda
Hotels in Tokyo - Agoda