World Cup 2014 Qualifying Groups

World Cup 2014 Qualifying Draw & Groups: Europe

World Cup 2014 Qualifying Groups: Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania, South America

World Cup 2014

Europe will have 13 slots for the 2014 World Cup. 53 teams will compete for the 13 slots from 9 groups A-I.

Second stage

The best eight best runners-up* will be drawn against each other for four play-off matches on a home-and-away basis. The four play-off winners qualify for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil.

* determined on the basis of the number of points won whereby the bottom-placed team in the groups involving six teams is not taken into account

European Zone: World Cup 2014 Qualifying

First stage

Begins in September 2012 and ends in October 2013 and is played as a league system on a home-and-away basis involving nine groups (eight groups of six teams, and one group of five teams). The nine group winners qualify for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil.

Second Stage

The 8 best group runners-up will be grouped into 4 pairs of 2 teams and meet in home and away legs from November 13-19, 2013. The 4 winners will qualify for World Cup 2014.


Group A Group B Group C Group D
Croatia Italy Germany Netherlands
Serbia Denmark Sweden Turkey
Belgium Czech Republic Republic of Ireland Hungary
Scotland Bulgaria Austria Romania
FYR Macedonia Armenia Faroe Islands Estonia
Wales Malta Kazakhstan Andorra
Group E Group F Group G Group H
Norway Portugal Greece England
Slovenia Russia Slovakia Montenegro
Switzerland Israel Bosnia-Herzegovina Ukraine
Albania Northern Ireland Lithuania Poland
Cyprus Azerbaijan Latvia Moldova
Iceland Luxembourg Liechtenstein San Marino
Group I

Play Offs

Portugal 4-2 Sweden 1-0 3-2
Ukraine 2-3 France 2-0 0-3
Greece 4-2 Romania 3-1 1-1
Iceland 0-2 Croatia 0-0 0-2